Flickr will as of today begin deleting images from users’ free accounts that have exceeded the 1,000 image limit, the company has announced.
SmugMug, which purchased the photo-sharing platform last year, announced in November that it would be ending Flickr’s free terabyte of storage for free accounts on 5 February 2019.
Users’ most recent images will be deleted, leaving free accounts to start with their oldest posts.
SmugMug says the move will only affect around 3% of its free account holders, and those who are affected should upgrade to a Pro account.
Flickr originally increased its storage limit on free accounts from 200 images or videos to the terabyte of storage back in 2013 to try and increased memberships. However, SmugMug says while sign-ups increased, people used the platform as storage rather than engage with the Flickr community.